US insurance for nonresidents

Hey there!

First time here :)

I'm planning a 6 month trip across the US with my own motorcycle. My question is about insurance.

My local insurance (Switzerland) does not cover the US and I am having trouble finding a US insurance company to handle my case. Also I won't have a social security number nor proof of permanent residency.
  • What insurance company has an offer for this situation? I'm especially worried about not having a social security number
  • Do US insurance companies require me to have US license plates or can I use my local license plates? The california DMV told me I only need to get national license plates if I am a resident, but no comment on insurance.
  • What's smart to get on top of Liability coverage? I'm planning to get roadside assistance.
I can't seem to find relevant information on the insurance companies websites - as my case is indeed somewhat obscure.

Cheers
Simon

Last edited:

Robert

IBR Finisher
Premier Member
www.motorcycleexpress.com is your best choice
If you need the insurance for the IBR, it's more tricky as the requirements of the IBA go beyond the typical coverage of this tourist insurance. Some discussions are needed then.
If you need the insurance only for regular tourism, the usual coverage offered is fine.

Robert

IBR Finisher
Premier Member
I know one who is from Europe that did get his insurance from Progressive specifically for the IBR in 2021. I would contact @JON12A to ask him how he did it. He bought my FJR and got insurance through Progressive.
I also got an insurance once from Progressive. The problem is: at a certain point you can't the truth when they ask for your residence and you provide them with an address of a friend. In case of an accident, you're in deep....
These insurances are designed for domestic customers, not temporary motorcycle tourists.

Auburn

Premier Member