Day Trippin' to Marfa

This ride actually happened last year but I thought I'd go ahead and share it here. At the time I only shared this on our local forums.

I'll also use this as a sort of introduction post so I'll start with some background on me, I started riding way back in 2003 (can I call that way back now?) when I turned eighteen and never stopped. I'm sure most readers can figure out why the riding started at eighteen. ;) Other than a CBR and my current FJR all my rides have been dual sports. Anyway, this was my first, and so far only, attempt at a certified ride. Going into this I had quite a few 500+ mile days under my belt and many days spent riding from sun up to well past sun down so I felt pretty confident going in. To this point most of my riding had always been dual sport or ADV oriented so while the days might have been long I wasn't always covering that many miles. This would be a real change of pace for me and I ended up even enjoying the interstate part of the ride... sort of.

This was something I always wanted to do and always envisioned I'd do it on my 1150GSA but last July an FJR fell into my lap and I knew what I had to do. On August 28th I headed South. ... And then West, and then North, and then East. The next part is copy and pasted straight from the report I wrote at the time.

I got started a little late but it's all good. Actually, leaving a little behind schedule meant less time riding in the fog that was cloaking the Brazos River Valley. In my helmet as I made my way towards Glen Rose and my first time riding “on the clock” was Brass Against's cover of War Pigs. I found the title oddly fitting since I frequently refer to the FJR as the Rocket Pig.

In front of me was... fog and deer. Three of the things in the first 5 miles.