Intro & First SS1000

Been lurking around for a month or so while planning my first SS1000. I attempted and completed it on 12-12-18. Major cities were Las Vegas, Phoenix, and San Diego. I submitted it yesterday for certification.

As an intro I am a retired police officer and reside in the San Diego area riding a BMW K1600GTL; however, we are getting ready to relocate to the Northern Nevada area. I hate to say it but the republic of California is killing me. Yesterday they reported that they are reviewing the option to tax text messages. uugghhh.

Since completion of the SS1000 I informed my wife that if we are still here in So-Cal this spring I would not mind attempting a 50CC. When I explained what that is to her she told me that she wanted to go with me. I have a comment. Can the IBA establish a new ride certification for me? Basically a CC in 50 days rather than 50 hours? See, if my wife comes along it will take about 50 days. She needs time to shop, sight see, buy shoes. That kind of thing.

Merry Christmas everyone!

SOSM

MarkG

Premier Member
Welcome to the insanity, it will become addictive. I did the 50CC for my third ride from San Diego to Jacksonville, not a bad run but watch the stop times. For the wife, use the outbound leg to scout for shopping on the way home. :)

kwthom

=o&o>
Premier Member
IBA Member
<...>I would not mind attempting a 50CC. When I explained what that is to her she told me that she wanted to go with me.<...>
Welcome! :)

I quote that part of your post, simply because I love my wife too much to torment her...but it did bite me.

I've told the story before, but essentially a few months after our son & his bride moved to SoCal (L.A. area), I said "Hey, wanna go on a motorcycle ride, eat lunch with the kids and sleep in your own bed?"

She surprised the you-know-what outta me and said "When do we leave?" :eek: