SS2000... if I'm gonna commute, I might as well commute

Planning to deliver my bike to Billings for the summer, I figured I might try to squeeze in a patch attempt somewhere in there. Currently thinking 2000 mi to the Black Hills, from Tampa Bay area, in 48 hours.

I'm kind of new to this, only run so far was a successful SS1000 last year. Wanted to run an idea by yall.

I'm kind of favoring a late start, like leaving Tampa Bay at 6pm. Dividing the ride into three segments basically. Should be able to press that first night. Long day following that -- a thousand miles more or less -- with a two hour time buffer before I absolutely have to stop. Third segment will be a more manageable 730 mile run, likewise with a two hour buffer.

That works for me, biological-clock-wise. Long as my head is on the pillow between midnight and 4am my time, with a short nap at noon, I'm good to go. Also I get to run the gulf coast states in the dark, so it won't be so hot. Decent weather window in the deep south, afternoon thunderstorms should be done by then. Kansas weather could be problematic, and I may have critter problems in AL and KS for those pre-dawn runs. Putting decent lights on the bike this week.

So. Two four-hour naps, two one-hour naps, and four hours for fuel stops, traffic jams, hail, and random annoyances.

Does that sound reasonable, or have I completely lost my mind?

EricV

Premier Member
IBR Finisher
Keeping up with your normal sleep schedule and what you understand about your body's biological clock/needs is always a good thing. Getting through Atlanta around midnight doesn't sound too bad either. Depending on your route, Memphis can get a little ugly when you're getting across the river, after that things open up.