Tires for BMW GS

Jeff McDonald

Premier Member
I was interested to know ,what tires the gs riders use .I have been using duel sport or adventure tires for the last 20 years. Mostly because I ride alot of
dirt roads.
For the past few years I have been riding more IBA type rides and would like to know what other like minded riders think.
I know tires are a personal choice ,depending on how you ride.
I now ride a
2020 1250 GSA

EricV

Premier Member
IBR Finisher
Beautiful Wife was *very* pleased with the mileage, traction wet and dry and overall handling on and off pavement with MotoZ tractionator GPS tires. https://pacificpowersports.com/shop/tractionator-gps/ Well over 12k from rears.

The only caveat was we saw some cracking at the lugs on the 170 width. After some conversations with MotoZ they felt the GS rim width didn't really support the 170 width adequately for their tires and suggested a 150 width, (bonus, cheaper and more readily available in other brands too, and the same size I was running on my Super Tenere). We never had anything get bad or cause issues on the 170, but did change to a 150 when it wore out. Zero issues of cracking on the 150 width on the GS.

Last edited:

nudihjn

Premier Member
I have used the Michelin Anakee Adventure tires for a while. On my 2nd set - 2020 BMW R1250GS. Ran 2-3 sets of the same tire on my Yamaha Super Tenere prior to purchasing the GS. Happy with the tire & its performance. Light off road only - gravel & compact dirt roads.

Jeff McDonald

Premier Member
Beautiful Wife was *very* pleased with the mileage, traction wet and dry and overall handling on and off pavement with MotoZ tractionator GPS tires. https://pacificpowersports.com/shop/tractionator-gps/ Well over 12k from rears.