Lane splitting

I see where Washington State may joining California in allowing lane-splitting. Senate Bill 5378 is being considered by the legislature. On April 23, the House, by resolution, returned the Bill to the Senate Rules Committee for a third reading.
This is promising relief for motorcycle riders who get stuck in rush hour traffic, particularly passing through crowded metro areas.
It isn't for every rider, but it would be nice to have the option.
--Chelsea

Scott Parish

Premier Member
Definitely one of the best things about living in Cali. Sometimes I take lane splitting for granted and continue to do it in other states where drivers are not accustomed to letting a MC go past and have people yelling and shaking their fist at me... oops.

Scott

BMWguy

IBA Member
That report is interesting as I would have never thought lane splitting would be an endorsed technique by the AMA.

Other than seen it on YouTube, I have no experience with this, so bear with my ignorance on the subject.
What's the SOP during a traffic backup when all vehicles begin to move? Do motorists have to allow a motorcycle a right of way to re-enter a lane?
And, what if the motorcyclist come to a point where two vehicles are so close to the lane dividing line that they cannot proceed any further towards the front of the congested traffic and are basically stuck between the two lanes?

Scott Parish

Premier Member
That report is interesting as I would have never thought lane splitting would be an endorsed technique by the AMA.

Other than seen it on YouTube, I have no experience with this, so bear with my ignorance on the subject.
What's the SOP during a traffic backup when all vehicles begin to move? Do motorists have to allow a motorcycle a right of way to re-enter a lane?