Bun Burner Gold - if the fates allow

JAORE

Premier Member
BBG Attempt (?) May 2018

I say attempt because, at this time I have not, even submitted my documentation to the IBA. Partly due to procrastination, partly due to a family trip right after this ride and partly due to my primary computer taking a dirt nap after the latest Windows 10 update. But, at least all my info and pictures are backed up and my paper receipts are safely sitting in a plastic bag.

First let me say a Bun Burner Gold was a big step up from a Saddle Sore1000 for me. Not to belittle the SS. As an indication of my respect for the SS 1000, I'll note that in my former, working, life, I was an engineer. My loving wife had my diploma and Professional Engineer License beautifully framed. Nice. Those are on a shelf in the garage. The two IBA certs I currently own are both SS 1000's and they are on the wall of my den.

Of course I read the Iron Butt Rally reports, or the ride reports of guys that do other INSANE things like the SS 40/40 and can't even wrap my head around them. Like watching Olympic gymnasts I see it, I recognize we are the same specie, but …. can't even imagine.

Still, as Clint Eastwood says, “A man's got to know his limitations”. So, considering all the limitations of this 66 year old man, I'm proud of accomplishing the BBG (presumptuously assuming I pass muster with the IBA powers that be). I've read numerous reports of others that have finished this ride. They over came obstacles like weather, construction zones, traffic accidents causing delays and other hurtles.

I was lucky. The construction zones were free flowing even if signed for a slower speed. The weather was good absent a brief rain and the concern about dark clouds and lightning in the distance. The only bad accident I saw that delayed traffic was in the other direction. And I even breezed through the urban areas without substantial congestion due to the hours I chose to ride.