Aux Tank on '22 Tiger 900

I downsized to the 2022 Tiger 900. One reason at age 74 my RSV was becoming a beast and getting long in the tooth. Second reason I plan to ride the Trans Labrador Highway this summer so this type of motorcycle would be a better fit. BMW 1250 and Tiger 1200 were out of my price range at present.

I don't like the seat or the chain but I will adapt. The seat has been reworked and I installed a Scott Oiler for the chain. Seems to be working fine.

Now to the point:
My last two motorcycles were carburetor equipped. I had aux fuel tanks on them. They have taken me on many IBA rides, 49 states, and all Canadian provinces/territories with roads. Since both were carburetor equipped, gravity feed worked great. However, I am new to the FI motorcycle world with 2022 emissions requirements.

I have decided to go with my 3 gallon (or maybe the 5 gallon) tank mounted on the pillion. I plan to use the vent hose to feed fuel from the aux to the main as per several of you have done. I understand the fueling process, main first then close, it then fill aux.

My question is since the charcoal canister valve is controlled by the ECU will a code be thrown if I disconnect the vent line on the tank side from the valve to use it for my aux feed? I thought I'd just cap the valve.

For now I am not concerned about the legality of disconnecting the cannister. I can deal with that after I have the aux tank plumbed. One thing at a time.

Marc11

Premier Member
IBR Finisher
A code should not be thrown if you disconnect the vent line as long as you ensure the old vent line is unobstructed, don't cap the valve. When the purge valve opens is just movies air through the vent hose, it doesn't know if that air is from the tank or not.