Dr. Tiki's Atomic 1000

Dr. Tiki

Premier Member

On July 16th, 1945 at 05:29:45 Mountain War Time
Mankind entered the nuclear age when a
19,000-ton plutonium bomb named “The Gadget”
was detonated at the Trinity test site in New Mexico.

Wagers were taken on “"whether or not the bomb would ignite the atmosphere, and if so, whether it would merely destroy New Mexico or destroy the world."​

_________​

First and foremost, I have to recognize Brian T. in the Iron Butt Community. He conceptualized this ride and on October 2017, him and his wife were the first people to get this certificate. You can read more about his ride on the Iron Butt Forums.

As soon as Brian posted his ride report, it had peaked my interest. I liked that this was a new ride and I have been fascinated by all things nuclear so what better place to go, than ground zero where the nuclear age began.

I started playing with route ideas right away and eventually I ended up with a plan that would have me leaving Phoenix early Saturday morning on April 7th, riding to the Trinity site then returning back home to Las Vegas.

On April 7th, I started my ride as planned and left on time at 03:00am. I left Phoenix behind me and entered the Tonto National Forest where once again, I was reminded of that one stupid error that I make EVERY time… I didn’t bring my heated gear.

It’s not that I forget to bring it. I just simply don’t want to bring it. I would rather be mildly uncomfortable than pack it. For everyone that’s going to comment on this, all I can say is “I know.” And I will probably continue not packing it for whatever stupid reason.

So as I start to slowly climb in altitude and with every degree that the temperature drops, it’s just another reason as to why I should pack my heated gear.