East-West, or West-East?

Dave28117

Premier Member
I've been planning for my 50cc this spring. April to be specific. As I contemplated a ride back, I have been looking at the I40 E2E. I live in the Charlotte NC area and that would put me closer to home at the finish. My original plan with my 50CC is starting in Jacksonville and west to SD.

The I40 ride is about 2500 miles. the 50CC is about 2400 (Jax to SD). I am planning to nest a BBG on the 50CC route, but that's not a requirement in stone.

As I have no experience with either of these rides, and of course, over-analyzing everything, has anyone found any difference in these two routes riding E-W or W-E? is there any advantage to gain by doing the I40 first?

My only thought so far is that I don't want to do the I40 and then the extra distance to the coast to nest them. My initial plan for the I40 puts me at 46 hours. I don't think I want to press the rest of the distance in 4 hours to complete the CC. besides, I have to do something on the way back. :)

Dave28117

Premier Member
I am planning my 50CC across I10 from Jax to SD, so what I'm really asking is if would be better to do I40 east to west and then I10 west to east, or the reverse of that doing I10 E-W and then I40 W-E. the only factor I can think of might be winds. would the headwinds be easier going E-W across I40, or going E-W across I10?

I am planning my 50CC across I10 from Jax to SD, so what I'm really asking is if would be better to do I40 east to west and then I10 west to east, or the reverse of that doing I10 E-W and then I40 W-E. the only factor I can think of might be winds. would the headwinds be easier going E-W across I40, or going E-W across I10?