Interviewees for the IBA

Hey everyone,
I am a 19-year-old college student in KCMO currently doing a profile paper on the IBA (basically I need to do research and get documented responses from people in the actually association). Would anyone be willing to give some reviews about their personal experience in the IBA in all?
Examples- What's the community like? Best experience? Worst conditions driven through? (please feel free to answer any questions you think up as well)

Also, if you could leave one piece of advice to someone like myself about motorcycling in general, what would it be?
Thank you all so much! I someday I hope to be a member of your association.

Edit: I got connected with two members in the KC area and will be attempting my first SaddleSore this summer with them. Thank you to everyone here.

~Jacob Honnold

Last edited:

selil

Premier Member
IBR Finisher
Hi Jacob...

I'm a former professor of a major midwest research university. Well met.

I've been around the Iron Butt Association since 1992. I've been riding motorcycles since I was around 3 years old. In the mid 1980s I followed the antic of some individuals very closely including the original Iron Butt Rally. I had actually exchanged letters (imagine that!) with Michael Kneebone a few times until 1994 when he sent me a package of one of the original Iron Butt Rally routes, information on the Southern California Motorcycle Association (SCMA) 1K ride, and some other items.