My first SS1K

So, this is my first attempt at any certificate, so naturally, I am starting with a SS1K. I plan to hit the road tomorrow by 11:30 am and 12:00 pm CDT. Obviously once I get rolling tomorrow, I won't be posting in here until the trip is finished.

In the event anyone wants to follow my progress in real-ish time (if it will show it in the middle of a trip)…
• Spotwalla: https://new.spotwalla.com/trip/2469-396ca96-d0e5/view

General information about the route…
Start: Dothan, AL
US-231 N to AL-97 N to US-80 W to I-20 W
Waypoint: Meridian, MS
I-20 W
Midpoint: Shreveport, LA
I-20 W
Waypoint: Lindale, TX
One of 3 northerly routes avoiding tolls that are all within 4 miles of each other
End: Grove, OK

*Waypoints are not necessarily stops, just points chosen to redirect the route in the desired direction. Route calculated by Google maps, avoiding toll roads. Google estimated miles is ≈ 1,024 (depending on which route I take from Lindale to Grove).

Here's an overview screenshot...
Screenshot_20210524-204840.jpg

And here's the bike all packed and ready...
PXL_20210601_213953399.jpg

Good luck! Looks like based on your departure time you'll be well out of Dallas area traffic, good call.
Thanks.

I actually am turning north before Dallas. Lindale is about half way from the LA/TX border to Dallas. From there, the screenshot shows the westward-most route but another route when I have looked up is more due north through Paris and the last route runs up the eastern TX/LA and OK/AR borders. I'll just let Google Maps pick the best one at the time that I hit that area, as I said, all 3 routes there are within 6 miles distance of one another.

Marc11

Premier Member
IBR Finisher
Thanks.