My journey to Laconia 100th.

This story, like so many others starts years before the actual ride. While the details of the thoughts and deeds of that time may be of interest to some, I will spare you, gentle reader, from the stresses of doubt and fears that delayed. For, it is easy to find a reason not to do a thing. The difficult task is to ignore those, sometimes sensible points, and begin. Still, this story deserves to be told and thus I warn that it is neither a quick read, or is it one of laser focus on the ride for which I earned my plate back. Thus, duly warned, I begin in the mid 1980's, a recent High School grad and earning my degree.

My background is in bicycling. From the time I was knee high to a Dachshund, I was on a bike. From trails in the woods behind my home to streets ranging far and wide. By the time I was in my 20's the thrill of a "century ride" was starting to wane. I began riding the local Brevit Series which are progressively longer and longer rides under strict time limits, culminating into a 750 mile 90 hour run from Boston to Montreal and back. Like most things in cycling, this is all based on French standards and many of the names and other features of these rides retained their French terms. For example, the long ride is referred to as “The American Randonnée.” The entire ride was to mimic a French ride from Paris to Brest and back. The ride was only run every 4 years.

Alas, I never did the long ride. The time commitment and all the typical fears and doubts took their toll. I would convince myself that I still needed to train and that I'd be better prepared next time. By this time I no longer bought bikes. I built them. I would lace up wheels using the exact components I wanted. I would agonize over groups and gear sets. By the time I'd married and purchased my first home, the stable of bicycles had reached 7.