New member hi and intro

Foxton1

Premier Member
Hi all, I'm Sam from Western Sydney, having grown-up in 'the Shire' in South Sydney. This year, I caught the bug for long distance riding challenges, and would like to introduce myself.

I've been riding for over 30 years, mostly on naked & sport touring bikes. My current go-to bike for long rides is a BMW R1250RS. Previous bikes for that purpose were a Suzuki Vstrom 650, then before that - an Aprilia Tuono. The Vstrom took me to Cameron Corner, and the Tuono was perfect for doing a lap of Tassie. Comfort is definitely increasing in priority the older I get!

Shout-out to Chris in NZ for the certificate pack I received yesterday. I thoroughly enjoyed my September ride from Sydney -> Adelaide -> Melbourne, which I'll share a Ride Report soon. I'm already planning my next couple of ride certifications: one in Australia, the other in the USA. Thankfully I have a very supportive wife, who can ride, but prefers her car more these days.

Why 'Foxton1' as my handle?
When I was a kid, I spent each Xmas with my mum's side of the family in Palmerston North, NZ. The closest beach was Foxton Beach some 25 km away. Riding a 10-speed bicycle there and back was my first long-distance ride on two wheels.

I'd welcome the chance to get-to-know/meet other likeminded riders, learn more, give back where possible, and have some fun along the way. Cheers all :)

tj189

Premier Member
G'day Sam and welcome.
lots of information and ride reports from others here on the forum. Please catch up with the web page as well, we have installed a calendar for upcoming rides etc. Our annual Muster recently occured after a bit of a standstill during COVID. Keep an eye out on the calendar for the dates of that for next year.
Enjoy your time with us.

Cheers
TJ

Fatman