OIL Life

R

Roy Kjendal

Wondering if anyone is pushing the 6K mile spec on their K1600GTL, etc. 6K seems a bit short and the oil is pretty expensive? Also wondering if anyone is using an oil testing lab to see how their oil is doing?

Thanks

Garry in AZ

Premier Member
IBR Finisher
Roy, I have no K1600GTL experience, but I can tell you this... I use Mobil 1 full synthetic oil (specifically "V-Twin" 20W-50) in all my street bikes. With my 2005 ST1300 I have done several 10,000+ mile rides without changing the oil, including last years IBR. When I got home, I sent my oil to Blackstone Labs for analysis. The report came back favorable, and showed the oil still had 23% of life left. Viscosity was still good, and very little insolubles in the oil. I always change filters with the oil, and I typically change between 5000 and 6000 miles, but I do not worry about it if I extend that distance occasionally.
That said, in terms of general maintenance, oil and filters are cheap insurance and I would suggest you follow the manufacturers service intervals.

Garry

R

Roy Kjendal

I used to have a Wing felt very good about doing 10-12K between oil/filter changes as long as it was synthetic. The BMW specs seem to pretty tight and the oil they spec is 'special' and expensive (synthetic, of course). I can get it from Castrol for $40/6 quart...twice that from BMW fro the same spec (I believe it's a racing spec). Anyhow, I don't want to screw with the warranty but am interested in what other K bike owners are doing.... Thanks for your inputs Gary.

Not BMW specific ...

I have an '05 FJR with 115000 miles on it. Yamaha service interval for oil is 4000 miles. I use Shell Rotella T 15W40 Heavy Duty Diesel Oil

After the 48/10 I submitted a sample to Blackstone Labs for a report. The oil had covered 8500 miles. Blackstone reported it to be still within spec and suggested a 10000 mile service interval.