SaddleSore Failed Attempt - Lessons learnt

Hello Riders,

So yesterday I made an attempt for SS1000. My route was a loop as below

Fremont-CA -- Los Banos -- Bakersfield -- Death Valley -- Beatty -- Tonopah -- Hawthrone -- Reno -- Sacramento -- Fremont CA

I started the ride at 3 AM but had to call off after 600 Miles. Here are some of the points I noticed that I could have done better. These are just my views

My experience as a rider: I have been riding for 10+ years now and done many cross country motorcycling trips along some tough hilly terrains in the himalayas.

Avoid rides in winters : If you are a relaxed rider like me who likes to cruise at 60mph sipping a drink, then avoid rides in winters. You hardly get 10 hrs of proper daylight. In SS rides, you need to clock maximum miles during the day. At nights, it got really chilly and windy with dropped visibility and my speed went really down. I reached Beatty as per my schedule at 4 PM but after that visibility dropped very low. I was on US95 to Tonopah which is a double lane freeway. Got a lot of truck road rages because I wasn’t able to cruise. It was bone chilling cold. I had heated liners on which kept me warm but yea no more winter night rides!

I noticed that I hardly saw any biker in my entire trip which made me realize that maybe it’s not a riding season.

Death valley: I think adding death valley to my route was a blunder. I spent close to 2 hrs of daytime cruising through the valley at slow speed. It’s scenic but wont suggest it for time based rides. Moreover when you are in a place like death valley riding solo with no mobile reception, thoughts of if the bike breaks down in this desert etc, i think it affects the cruising mindset that you need to have in these rides.

Finally I stopped at tonopah and stayed in a motel after 600 Miles into the ride. I wasn’t too tired and was pretty well on track as i had planned but yea learnt few lessons