Unexpectations of a Noob The Novel

I just got my certification for my first SS1000 and I thought maybe some of my experience might help other people looking into accomplishing their first IBA ride. I loved the info available, and used it wholeheartedly, but because it was written by experts(or at least people with much more experience) it didn't fully prepare me for the emotions, the experience or mistakes that I would encounter. Sorry for the long post. if it is inappropriate I will take it down.

Some background first. I have been riding streetbikes since 1985. Started with dirt, then sportbikes, then cruisers. Considered by most to be a very competent rider, but more of what you would consider from appearance as a "biker." I had gotten to where I would travel frequently to rallies and gatherings but never really putting more than 450-500 miles in a single day. But the IBA has always interested me, the ultimate man and machine test of endurance and self discipline. So I was finally at the point, with a couple of buddies, that I felt ready to tackle the task.

So on to preparation. I scoured this website, youtube, and all over the internet for any tips and information I could get my hands on. There are plenty of tales of success and some tales of misery out there to learn from. So I was ultra concerned about making sure there was no doubt that our route was of proper length. I didn't want to put forth the effort only to have our documentation come up short so I planned our route with an extra 60 miles to give us a bit of breathing room, just in case.