Wear and Tear

I am going to do the 1500/24hr. Already did the 1000. I ride a well maintained Triumph Thunderbird 1600. I was wandering what your OPINIONS were on wear and tear this ride causes. Seems running the motor for 24 hours straight; with the exception of 9 fuel stops would be more than it is designed for. Everybody here does this, just curious about you thoughts. I have one bike and can’t afford another.

Thanks,

Pat Pitts – Crowley, Texas

Last edited:

Scott Parish

Premier Member
Pat - you didn't include the year of your bike; but if it is well maintained - I don't see it being an issue. Also - when and where are you planning to complete the ride?

Scott

BMWguy

IBA Member
Disclaimer - I am NOT a mechanic!! LOL!

Probably less wear and tear on the engine running than starting and stopping as driving around town.
At least that's what I've always heard...

Pat - you didn't include the year of your bike; but if it is well maintained - I don't see it being an issue. Also - when and where are you planning to complete the ride?

Scott
Hi Scott,
The year of my Thunderbird is 2012. Bought it 2 months ago. It had only 5500 miles on it. I’ve put about 3200 miles on it. It’s very comfy. Rode it to Palo Duro and Caprock Canyons by Amarillo, then to Arkansas and Missouri.

Planning to ride the first week of July from Fort Worth Texas to Las Cruces New Mexico, return via the same route. And down I35 to Temple, then home to Crowley Texas (1536 miles). This seems to be the highest speed limits around here. (75 and 80). I love speed but hate tickets more. I plan on 9 fuel stops. I realize that you all are riding these all the time. Just got to thinking……

Thanks for the reply,

Pat Pitts

Ed.

Premier Member