2017 run coming from cornwall

Hi im new to large runs etc and ive paid up for next years run and am doing the north clockwise route around scottland, firstly if anyone is riding up from down the south or want to ride the route together please let me no as id aprecate any company, also any helpfull tips from riders who have done this before would be a great help lol, cheers, matty horsfield

FJRPilot

Brit Butt Rallymaster RBLR1000 routemaster
Premier Member
IBA Member
Hi Matt. Welcome on-board :)

Bimbler on here is also from your neck of the woods and I'm sure he'll be along to offer his support. He's only 5 miles further from Squires than you are :p

In my opinion you've chosen one of the better route directions. It's always great riding down through Glen Coe and the last stretch back down the A1 never seems as bad as the long drag down the M6 and across the M62 as the anti-clockwise direction does.

One of the keys to success (after some practice of course) is to plan your fuel stops and try and ride until you need to stop and top up. You can then use these stops to eat, drink, and pee. It's all too easy especially in the highlands to keep stopping to take in the scenery, but it's surprising how all these extra stops can eat into your time.

I'd also consider starting early at 05.00. Many riders choose to start at this time to make the most of the light traffic and daylight. You might only end up riding for a couple of hours in darkness and it's something to brag about when you tell all your friends you've ridden around the whole of Scotland in daylight :D

Bimbler

RBLR1000 Publicity
IBA Member
Bimbler here!

Welcome Matt.

Every year I think of doing a different route and then I end up with North-Anti. (I like the M6,M62 at the end.)
The worst bit is getting past Birmingham from Cornwall on Friday to reach Squires. Cars sat in the right hand lane and not moving out of the way. (Grumble,grumble).