6th Gen Gold Wing Mods

Airportbum

Premier Member
Greg Rice has a great website about modifying all of the bikes he has ridden long distance, Gold Wings included. I used (copied) his ideas for most of my farkles on my 2006 Gold Wing. I departed from his methods on a few things with my 2018. I thought I would pass them on. Buyer beware, I'm an average mechanic even after the third or fourth try...

Tank Mount
For the aux tank mount, I didn't like anyones idea of drilling through the oem grab handles. I bought the Baker Built grab handles for the mount. They mount under the seat firmly to the frame, in the same way the Traxxion grab handles and tank mount attach. I removed the handle piece, and then drilled through the mount to attach my tank. It makes for a very secure attach point. It's grounded metal to metal.

Tapping the Gas Tank