New GPS - Dezl 770 Replacement

Greg Rice

Premier Member
IBR Finisher
It was finally time to replace the Garmin Dezl 770 with something new as my Dezl 770 finally bit the dust in the Senior Butt Rally last October with James Owen. I had been using a Dezl 770 since 2015 so I had a good 7 +years of use and over 300,000 miles. I really liked the Dezl 770, and it worked great for me.

I started looking for a good replacement and a new Dezl 770 was not available except for at a high price. I bought a few GPS’s only to return them as they just did not really work for me. In December after a lot of research I bought a Garmin RV890, an 8 inch GPS. The physical dimensions is the same as the Dezl 770 and it weighs less than the Dezl 770. I also liked the RV890 because it has an audio out port and video in port. I could then connect the RV890 to my Mix-It to hear the navigation commands and hook up my thermal imaging camera like I did with the Dezl 770. The RV890 has the same operating system and features as the Zumo XT so it was easy to figure out how to use it. The routing engine is also the same as the Zumo XT.

The Garmin RV890 is NOT waterproof. I have done a few things to my GSA ( foam in the openings and fork tunnel ) and the RV890 to make it pretty water resistant and use a big baggie when in extreme weather.

I also found the RV890 screen is glove friendly which was a BIG bonus.

I removed the BMW NAV6 cradle and mounted the RV890 on the bar in front of the TFT screen so it would be in front of me and easy to see.

I have now ridden over 5,000 miles and a couple BBG’s and it has worked great. I will be using the RV890 on my ride to Panama next month.

Last edited:

SteveAikens

Premier Member
IBR Finisher
My concern is just a bit more than brightness. I run a Nav Five & an XT on my RT. For me, moving to a significantly larger screen - regardless the brightness level - is questionable.