Honda 1500 Aux Fuel cell

I am looking to see if someone has an auxiliary fuel tank on a Honda GL1500. I am new to this and looking for help on how to best set this up. Thank you for any help you can give me.

John Albers
Waukesha, WI

EricV

Premier Member
IBR Finisher
There are probably still some guys that ran aux fuel on their GL1500s back when that was a current production bike. Hopefully some of them will speak up. Basically you have a couple of options, depending on what meets your needs. Tail dragger with an electric fuel pump to transfer fuel, or rear seat mount tanks that could be gravity feed or done with an electric pump. I think I may have seen one or two mounted in the trunk, but that's not really the best solution due to fumes and venting issues. Not to mention slower to fill at gas stops and losing the truck space for gear.

The GL1800 riders are in the same boat, but I don't know of a GL1800 seat tank will fit on a GL1500.

How many gallons are you looking to add? And do you need the passenger seat available for a passenger, or is a seat cell a viable option for your needs?

On tail dragger set ups it's common to use a trailer hitch and build a fuel cell mount to fit into that receiver. LINK At that point you need to pick your fuel cell and figure out a mount/frame for it. Just some angle bar stock and a little welding later your hard parts are done. Then it's just a matter of choosing a pump and some plumbing. I'm not familiar with the GL1500 enough to offer assistance in the exact plumbing or where to tap into the fuel system.

Last edited: