IBA Virgin SS1000 Ride Report

Sleekit Fkr

I believe a wee bit of background is probably in order first.

I’m new to biking. I passed my DAS course 22 months ago at the tender age of 53. I always loved motorcycles as machines to look at and loved the sound they made but never really had the desire to ride one. I’m a Paramedic to trade and after some of the things I’ve seen and had to deal with in relation to motorcycle accidents I was known to say, “You’d never get me on one of those things!”

Of course that was before I hit middle-aged puberty and bemoaned the fact that life seemed to be, “Eat, sleep, work, repeat. Eat, sleep, work, repeat….”. Long (and I assure you, interesting and amusing!) story made short, I gained my bike licence.

From the moment I decided ride a bike I became an avid researcher in all things bike and I discovered “Iron Butt” quite by chance. Many questions, what is this madness? Why do this? What’s the point? Jeez that must hurt! Surely that’s dangerous! But like a spreading cancer the intrigue grew.

Whilst my novice riding was enjoyable with mates and local groups I always wanted to go for longer days than most of them did. I was frustrated by prolonged stops for coffee, which led to soup then cake and before you knew it ride time was cut and lunch time ever more prolonged! I began to push out 300-500 mile days when out by myself and loved it. Maybe this Iron Butt madness wasn’t so mad after all; I mean 1000 miles isn’t really that much further is it?

“Plan the ride, ride the plan,” this flicked a switch deep within my psyche, I like to plan! I like to plan for things that might happen, hard to beat a good contingency plan that’s hopefully never used! I like to plan how the plan is going to be planned! I decided this was something I had to try.