Life Partner Agreements

Dr. Tiki

Premier Member
This week I am celebrating 21 years with my girlfriend. Yes, she is still my girlfriend... no, we are not married. :)

She didn't know me when I rode a bike previously, so for our first 7 years together, I was a normal person that drove a truck. I started riding again in 2007 and have been doing so since with and an agreement, that if she ever asked me to not swing a leg over the seat, that I wouldn't with no questions asked. In these past 14 years, due to her gut feeling, something spiritual or ???? she has only asked me once not to ride. Until tonight.

We were discussing my upcoming rides and mentioned that I had two rides planned before the end of the year. The Winter Solstice and a SantaSore 1000. Her mood somewhat changed but we turned back towards the show that we were watching on TV. During a subsequent commercial or two she asked me not to ride during the Winter Solstice. I told her OK and confirmed that I will not ride that day and we then continued our evening (as decided years ago, with no questions asked).

I don't mind at all that she asked me not to ride and I have no problem with it, but it did get me wondering if any others have some kind of 'agreement' with their life partners.

Lets hear ye and tell your tale. :)

Last edited:

BigLew55

Premier Member
IBR Finisher
Happy wife, happy life.

You know what rhymes with husband?
NOTHING!...

:D

Yes, I saw that you're knot married, but I didn't have a girlfriend joke.

Kylearane

Premier Member
I think you'll find that all of us arrange our entire lives to ensure that our woman is happy. Any other course of action is just plain folly. :cool:
You'll have to change that to "most of us" since I do not arrange my entire life to ensure my wife is happy (and she is happy; 15 years married and getting stronger every day.)

Also, do you know that if you remove the word "wife" from "happy wife, happy life" you get "happy happy life?" (That's a joke too).